SAND is a not for profit Community Interest Company with 5 Directors and an Action Group which meets regularly to keep in touch with what is going on and to keep things moving in a forward direction.

We also have Named Supporters and Campaigners to help us to address current gaps in our diversity.

On this page – meet the Officers, the Directors and the Action Group!

Fran Jackson - Community Engagement Officer with substantial experience in the Voluntary Sector, working to build personal empowerment, community connections and the commitment of organisations to promote the simple human right of inclusion.
Trudy Lutwyche - Marketing and Design Officer, producing promotional materials, social media content, press releases and raising SAND’s profile. Since joining SAND in January, Trudy also worked on the 2021 Shrewsbury LGBT+ History Festival.
Jade Smith
Sue Gorbing (Director, Chair) - a Freelance consultant, trainer and facilitator and Trustee for Shropshire Rainbow Film Festival and West Mercia Women’s Aid.
Kay Davies (Director, Secretary) - previously a Matron and Care Manager, Kay is now a Staff Nurse who has worked to improve standards in Care Homes for the last 20 years.
Katharine Haines (Director, Treasurer) - a qualified accountant with 20 years’ experience in the voluntary sector and Finance Officer for Citizens Advice Shropshire.
Sal Hampson (Director) - a Trustee of Age UK Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin and Programmes and Projects Manager at The Hive, a local independent charity which utilises creative arts and media to increase well-being.
Claire Duffield-Townsend (Director) – an antipodean who has lived in Shropshire since 2014. Claire thrives on championing the rights of the LGBT+ community, in particular those who feel that they do not have a right to speak or be heard.
Geoff Hardy - a Trustee of the Shropshire Rainbow Film Festival, and a Board member of FRESh (Shropshire’s equalities forum) and Shropshire Youth Association.
Betty Halford - an old woman passionate about her community and thinking ahead realistically to when she may need to call on care services. She calls herself ‘Exhibit A’ and likes checked shirts!
Heather Osborne - Chief Executive of Age UK Shropshire Telford & Wrekin, a local independent charity committed to pursuing equality for older people.
Jackie Stengelhofen is an octogenarian who has had 3 very important relationships with other women in her life; she has been in a Civil Partnership since 2008.
Daniel Bebbington-Rawlings